Vengeance is Mine Says the Lord


107/365

Image by CR Artist via Flickr

I just recently discovered that the “Pastor” who had asked me to leave “his” church because I was an ordained female minister, was also asked to leave that same church for loosing his temper.  I also discovered not too long ago that another “Pastor” who had asked me to leave her church had to close the doors on her church.  She had asked me to leave for “nagging” my husband, when I had in fact simply stated to him, “I know you don’t want to hear this right now, but I love you.”  If we were all asked to leave for serving the Lord and telling people we love them, there would be no more churches.  Another incident that took place many years ago was also vindicated by God.  A neighbor who had made false allegations which were totally unfounded about myself and several other neighbors has found herself in a Mexican prison for attempting to kidnap two Mexican children after having lost her own two children.

Through all of these incidents, though hurt and very heartbroken, I learned to pray for my enemies to come to repentance before the Lord, and I have seen God take vengeance on my enemies on my behalf.  King David once said in the Psalms, “I know I am doing your will, because you have not let my enemies triumph over me.”  Now that triumph is not always immediate, as I have had to wait years to see it, much like Joseph did when his brothers sold him as a slave to Egypt.  And like Joseph, I don’t wish evil on anyone who comes against me, and have never attempted to “get back” at my enemies for the harm to my reputation and even my physical body.  I have prayed for all of them to come to repentance and for God to do in their lives whatever it takes for that to happen.  And then I have waited on the Lord for the results.  I have found, though, that God’s strong hand of vengeance is mightier than my hand ever could have been.  And I trust that God will work all things out for my good because I love the Lord and have been called according to His purpose (Romans 8:28).

I do have those who are coming against me now because I choose to stand up for righteousness and for what I believe is Biblical truth.  I pray for their repentance as well and I trust God to work everything out for good.  Please pray with me that I, after having done everything I can, will be able to stand in the face of my giants.  I have been threatened with the loss of mine and my children’s mobile home, which has been bought and paid for, told I was “crazy” by my own family, because I refused to go to a funeral with a known pedophile, and put in lock down for three days to get me out of the way while they did their evil deeds.  But as their accusations were based on untrue exaggerations I could not be held any longer than the three days.

Now I Cor. 5 clearly tells us we are not to associate with people who call themselves “Christian” and yet continually behave in sexually immoral and other sinful ways.  It states we are not even to eat with people like this.

While I was there in lock down, God mercifully surrounded me with godly ladies and gentlemen who prayed with me for my vindication and supported me with loving hands and open hearts.  I spent those three days studying scripture (I was allowed to keep my Bible, Praise Yahweh God, Psalm 37-41 was particularly helpful ), praising the Lord in song, and praying.  It was a much needed rest from the troubles of this world.  In the end the doctors I saw indicated that the only thing wrong with me was that I was standing up to my dysfunctional family and they didn’t like it, and that I might seek “grief counseling” for the way I lost my father.

In their attempts to destroy my reputation, they also would have kept me from finishing my Master’s degree in Christian Counseling, which I have struggled through ten years of school to obtain.  But God did not allow their evil plans to succeed.  God has a plan for my life and those who would try to thwart it are only getting in God’s way, and I for one would never want to be in that place!  I pray I never do stand in the way of God’s will for someone else’s life.

Now I’m not saying I don’t have problems and am perfect — far from it.  I do have a temper at times, especially when someone violates my personal boundaries of life and faith.  I have many other faults that God is still working on and will continue to work on until I get to the other side of heaven.  But in spite of all my many faults, I, like Paul the apostle, hope to be useful in God’s kingdom, even if I am a woman.  I have found that God uses women in at least two circumstances through my study of scripture, when a man can’t do the job, or when a man refuses to do the job God called him to.  I believe I have been called to minister to victims of sexual and domestic violence, and that is something a man clearly cannot do.  My ordination is between me and My God.  So I pray  that all of these trials I am going through will work out for the good of everyone concerned and I will wait on the Lord , my Savior and my God, to vindicate me of the evils I have been falsely  accused of.

Immorality Destroys the Church

     5[1-5] It’s commonly told that there’s sexual sin among you, and such sexual sin as isn’t so much as named among the other peoples, that one would have the spouse of one of their parents.  And you’re prideful, instead of crying over this, that the one who has done this might be taken away from among you. The truth is, being absent in body, but present in spirit, I have judged already, as though I were present, about those who have done this. In the Name of our Christ, Yeshua, when you’re gathered together, and my spirit, with the power of our Christ, Yeshua, let Satan have such as this for the ruin of the body, so that the spirit might be saved in the day of Christ Yeshua.

[6-8] Your bragging isn’t good. Don’t you know that just a little yeast leavens the whole lump of dough? So put out the ones who remain in their earthly ways, so that you can become a new lump of dough, as if you’re unleavened.  Even Christ, our Passover, is sacrificed for us: So let’s keep the celebration, neither with the leaven of our old ways, nor with the leaven of hatred and evil; but with the unleavened bread of honesty and truth.

Immorality is to be Judged by the Church and Separated from the Assembly

[9-13] I wrote to you before in a letter not to keep company with the sexually immoral: Yet you can’t stay away from the sexually immoral of this world totally, or with the selfish, or cheats, or with those who worship falsely, because then you would need to completely leave the world. But I’ve written to you not to keep company with anyone called a Christian, who is a sexually immoral person, or is selfish, or worships other faiths, or is abusive, or a drunk, or a cheat; so don’t to keep company with these kinds of people. I’ve no business judging those that aren’t in the faith. I only judge those who are thought of as Christians. But those who aren’t in the faith God judges. So separate those evil people from among you.

Taking Legal Actions Against Christians

6[1-11] If you’ve something against another, dare you take legal action in the earthly courts, instead of bringing it before the church? Don’t you know that the Christians will judge the world? And if the world will be judged by you, aren’t you worthy to judge things like this? Don’t you know that we’ll judge angels? How much more then, should we judge things that concern this life? If then you make judgments of things concerning this life, set them to judge who are least esteemed in the church. I speak to your shame. Is it so, that there isn’t a wise person among you? No, not even one, who will be able to judge between one another?  But one takes legal action against another, and that to the courts of unbelievers! So there’s quite a fault among you, because you take legal action against one another. Why don’t you instead take wrong? Why don’t you instead let yourselves to be taken advantage of?  But no, you do wrong, and take advantage of one another. Don’t you know that the ungodly won’t inherit the realm of God? Don’t be misled: Neither the sexually immoral, nor those who worship falsely, nor those who are sexually unfaithful, nor cross-dressers, nor those who are homosexual, nor thieves, nor selfish, nor drunks, nor haters, nor cheats, will inherit the realm of God. And some of you were like these: but now you’re made clean, but now you’re set apart, but now you’re made right in the Name of Yeshua, the Christ and by the Spirit of our God.

Give God Body and Spirit

[12-20] All things are legal to me, but everything isn’t good for me: everything is legal for me, but I won’t be controlled by anything. Food is for the body, and the body needs food: but God will put an end to both. Now the body isn’t for sexual sin, but for God; and the body needs God. And God, who has brought Christ back to life, will also bring us back to life with great power. Don’t you know that your bodies are the members of Christ’s body? Should I then take the members of Christ, and make them the members of a sexually immoral person? God forbid! Don’t you know that the one who is joined to a sexually immoral person is one body?  The Christ said, when two are joined, they will become as one body. But whoever is joined to God is one spirit. So run from sexual sin! Every sin that someone does is outside the body; but whoever takes part in sexual sin sins against their own body. Don’t you know that your body is the place of worship of the Holy Spirit which is in you, which you have from God? You aren’t even your own, because you were bought for a price: so give God your body, and your spirit, which are both God’s.

On Marriage

7[1-7] Now about the things in which you wrote to me: It’s good for someone not to be sexually active. But even so, to avoid sexual sin, let every man have his own wife, and let every woman have her own husband. Let the husband give to the wife what is rightfully due her: and the same also the wife to the husband. The wife doesn’t have complete control of her own body, but the husband shares it: and the same also the husband doesn’t have complete control of his own body, but the wife shares it. So don’t cheat one another out of affection, unless it is with agreement for a specific time, so that you can willingly go without and pray; then come together again, so that Satan doesn’t tempt you for your lack of faithfulness.  I give you permission for this, but I don’t command it.  I wish that everyone were just like I am. But everyone has their own gift of God, one person has one gift, and someone else has another gift.

Live as You are Called

[8-24] So I say to the unmarried, the widows, and the widowers, it’s good for them if they can live without being sexually active just as I do. But if they can’t control themselves, let them marry again because it’s better to marry than to be continually tempted with sexual immorality.  And I say to the married, still not I, but God, the wife shouldn’t leave her husband: But if she must leave, let her stay separated, or make up with her own husband: and the husband shouldn’t divorce his wife.  But to the rest, and this is what I think, but it’s not God’s command: If any Christian man has a wife that doesn’t believe, and she is pleased to live with him, he shouldn’t divorce her. And the Christian woman has a husband that doesn’t believe, and that is pleased to live with her, let her not leave him. Because the unbelieving husband is set apart by the wife, and the unbelieving wife is set apart by the husband: or else your children would be ungodly; but now they’re blessed. But if the unbeliever leaves, let them leave. A Christian brother or sister isn’t trapped in such cases: but God has called us to be in peace. And how do you know, wife, whether you’ll save your husband? Or how do you know, husband, whether you’ll save your wife?  But use the gifts that God has given to each one, and stay just as you were called by God. And I ordain this in all the churches. If someone is called in a higher social standing, don’t let them seek lower social standing. If someone is called in a lower social standing, then don’t let them seek a higher social standing. What situation you are in is unimportant, but the keeping of the Words of God is what is truly important. Let everyone live the same way they were called. Are you called being a hired worker? Don’t worry about it: but if you can become free to do your own business, then take the chance to do that instead.  Because whoever is called in God, being a worker, is free in God: and in the same way also, whoever is called, being free, is Christ’s worker. You’re bought with a price; so don’t work for what ungodly people want. Christians, let everyone else live in God just as they were called.

On the Unmarried and the Widows

[25-40] Now about those who have never been sexually active, I have no Word of God: but still I give my judgment, as one that has found the mercy of God to be faithful. I think that this is good for the present problem, I say, that it’s good for someone to be one who has never been sexually active. Are you married? Don’t look to be separated. Are you separated from a spouse? Don’t look for a spouse. But if you do marry, you haven’t sinned; and if those who have never been sexually active get married, they haven’t sinned. Even so they’ll have trouble in the physical realm: but I would like to spare them that.  But I say this, Christians, the time left is short: so those who have spouses should be as though they didn’t have one; And those who cry, as though they didn’t cry; and those who celebrate, as though they didn’t celebrate; and those who buy, as though they didn’t have anything; And those who use this world, as not abusing it, because the way of this world is coming to an end. But I wouldn’t have you worry. Whoever is unmarried cares for the things that concern God, and how they can please God: But whoever is married cares for the things that are of the world, and how they can please their spouses. There’s difference also between a spouse and one who has never been sexually active. The unmarried cares for the things of God, so that they can be holy both in body and in spirit: but whoever is married cares for the things of the world, how they can please their spouses. And this I speak for your own good; not that I want to limit you, but for what is acceptable, and so that you can serve God without being pulled in two directions at once.  But if anyone thinks that they behaved unwisely toward their promised one, if their youth is passing them by, and their needs demand it, then let them do whatever they have vowed in their heart.  But if they can keep the one who has never been sexually active pure, they do well. So then whoever gives themselves in marriage does well; but whoever doesn’t give themselves in marriage does better. A spouse is bound by law as long as the other spouse lives; but if one spouse dies, the other is free to be married to whoever they want; as long as they are both Christians. But they’ll be happier if they live as I have said: and I think that I do have the Spirit of God.

Don’t Use Freedom to Harm Others’ Consciences

8[1-13] Now, about things used for the worship of other faiths, we know that we all have knowledge. Knowledge is full of self-importance, but love builds others up. And if anyone thinks that they know anything, they don’t know anything as they should. But if anyone loves God, this person is known by God. As about the eating of what is offered in worship of other faiths, we know that something worshiped falsely isn’t anything in the world but a statue, and that there’s no other God but One.  Though there are other things that are called gods, whether in heaven or in earth, (as there are many gods, and many saviors,) there’s only one God to us, the God, who is the Creator of everything, and we’re in God; and one Savior, Yeshua, the Christ, through whom everything exists, and we live through Christ. But everyone doesn’t have that knowledge, because some with consciences of the false worship still to this time, eat it as a thing used in worship to something worshiped falsely; and their consciences being weak are ruined. But food doesn’t commit us to God, because if we eat, we aren’t any better; and if we don’t eat, we aren’t any worse. But be careful that this freedom of yours doesn’t become a problem in some way to those who are weaker. So if anyone who has knowledge takes a meal in their place of false worship, won’t the conscience of those who are weak be encouraged to eat what is offered in worship to statues; And through your knowledge won’t the weak Christian be ruined, for whom Christ died? But when you sin this way against the Christians, and wound their weak consciences, you sin against Christ. So if certain foods makes me offend other Christians, then I won’t eat it while the world is still here, because I might offend another Christian.

On the Rights of A Follower of Christ

9[1-10] Am I not a follower? Am I not free? Haven’t I seen Yeshua, the Christ, our Savior? Aren’t you my work in God? If I am not a follower to others, still doubtless, I am to you, because you’re the proof of my work in God. My answer to those who question me is this: Don’t we have the right to eat and to drink? Don’t we have the right to take with us a spouse, too, as the other followers do, and as the families of Yeshua, and Peter do? Or do only Barnabas and I have no right to take time off? Who goes to fight at their own expense? Who plants a garden, and doesn’t eat its fruit? Or who feeds a herd, and doesn’t drink the milk from the herd? Do I say this as just a person? Or doesn’t the Word of God say the same things also? The Word of God says by Moses, “You shouldn’t muzzle the mouth of the cow that treads out the corn.” Doesn’t God take care of the cow? Or was it said for our own sakes? It was said for our sakes, no doubt, because it’s written that “Whoever plows should plow in hope; and that whoever threshes in hope, should get from what they had hoped.”

Give the New Word of Christ without Charge

[11-19] If we’ve sown to you spiritual things, is it a great thing if we reap your earthly things? If others have this right over you, shouldn’t we have more right than they? Even so we haven’t even used this right; but suffer through everything, so we won’t hinder the New Word of Christ. Don’t you know that those who minister in holy things live off the things from the place of worship? And those who serve at the altar take from what is brought to the altar? Just like this, God has said that those who preach the New Word would live off of preaching the New Word. But I’ve used none of these rights: nor have written this so that it would be this way to me, because it would be better for me to die, than for anyone to make my bragging of no use. Though I preach the New Word, I don’t have anything to brag about, because it’s necessary for me; yes, how sorry I would be, if I didn’t preach the New Word! But if I do this thing willingly, I’ll get a reward: but if it is against my will, I’ve been trusted with the responsibility of the New Word. What is my reward then? The truth is, that when I preach the New Word, I give the New Word of Christ without charge, so that I don’t abuse my power in the New Word. And though I am free from everyone, still I have made myself worker to all, so that my reward will be greater.

On Self-Control

[20-27] And to the Jews I became like a Jew, that I might win over the Jews; to those who are bound by the Law, as though I were bound by the Law, that I might win those who are bound by the Law; And to those who are without law, as without law, (not being without law to God, but under the Law to Christ,) that I might win those who are without law. To the weak I became as weak, that I might win the weak: I am made everything to everybody, so that I might in some way save some. And I do this for the New Word’s sake, that I might be one who has taken part in it with you. Don’t you know that those who run in a race all run, but only one wins the prize? So run to win. And everyone that wants to win is paced in everything. Now they do it to get a prize that won’t last; but we work for an everlasting prize. I so run with a purpose; and I fight, not as one that only swings at the air: But I use self-control: in case in some way, after I’ve preached to others, I myself would be rejected.

About mamaheartfilled

I am a mother of eight wonderful children and three grandkids, who I am very proud of. I am also a bi-vocational ordained evangelical minister, and a Christian Counselor. I received my B.S. degree in 2004, studying primarily in the areas of Psychology, with minors in Religion and English. I received my Masters Degree in 2009 in Psychological Counseling with an emphasis in Christian Counseling. My ministry is geared toward victims of sexual and domestic violence, including victims of childhood sexual abuse, whether currently or in the past. Since I have personally experienced the healing hand of God in overcoming many of the life issues that Christians may face, I feel qualified and compelled to discuss them in a truthful and open manner, as God’s word tells us that “We shall know the truth and the truth shall set us free.” God has brought me through such diverse tribulations as sexual, physical, and mental abuse, being a victim of a drunk driving accident, spousal pornography addiction, adultery, divorce, remarriage, a very brief, though unjust, incarceration, and having experienced multiple miscarriages and various other trials. I have been asked to leave two Southern Baptist Churches, due to my being a female, ordained as a minister, and fired from a SBC sponsored Christian School (mostly white) for speaking out against racial prejudice in the Family of God. Through God’s merciful forgiveness of my own sins and inadequacies and God’s grace given to me to forgive those who have been a stumbling block to me, I have overcome many of these adversities. God’s word tells us that “All things work together for good to those who love the Lord and are called according to the purposes of God." Since I have this hope, I believe that God has blessed me with the ability to confront and relate these issues to the Christian community, and that I have been called to the homeland mission field of North America. I hope to be able to use my personal experiences as a ministry of God’s grace and in the comforting of the people of God with the truth of God's mercy. I claim II Corinthians 1: 3 & 4 as my calling, which states: “Blessed be God, the Origin of our Lord Jesus Christ, the Origin of mercies, and the God of comfort; who comforts us in all our troubles, that we may be able to comfort those who are in trouble, by the comfort we ourselves have been given by God.” As I have received the gift of God’s healing, I hope to be able to bring the peace beyond understanding to others with the message of God’s mercy and grace. My love for the Sovereign Lord of my life, Jesus Christ, along with my passion for writing has drawn me to explore these commonly experienced crisis issues from the perspective of my own experience in the hope that I may bring an empathetic and compassionate insight to God’s people. I am now a published author and have several books in publication, including my autobiography, "A Little Redneck Theology." The views expressed in my writings are strictly my own insights, acquired from personal experience and diligent study of the related topics and God’s word concerning them. Though I am an ordained minister, my views should not be considered authoritative. I believe that the Christian community’s ultimate authority is the guidance of the human heart by the Holy Spirit and the Word of God.
This entry was posted in Christianity, counseling, devotionals, Marriage and Family, sexuality and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Vengeance is Mine Says the Lord

  1. Pingback: Crazy for Christ | Go Fish Ministries, Inc

  2. Pingback: On the Masculinity of God and Christ | Go Fish Ministries, Inc

  3. Pingback: It’s in His Blood | Go Fish Ministries, Inc

  4. Pingback: A Critical Review of Boundaries: When to say yes, When to say no to take control of your life | Go Fish Ministries, Inc

  5. Pingback: The Great I Am | Go Fish Ministries, Inc

Leave a Reply

