Isaiah 43-48


The Ten Commandments, In SVG

The Ten Commandments, In SVG (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Isaiah 43-48

43[1-5] But now Yahweh who created you, Jacob, and who formed you,Israel says this, “Don’t be afraid, for I’ve saved you. I’ve called you by your Name. You are mine. When you go through the waters, I’ll be with you; and through the rivers, they won’t drown you. When you walk through the fire, you won’t be burned, and the flames won’t even scorch you. For I am Yahweh your God, the Holy One of Israel, your Savior. I’ve bought you back and given Egypt as your ransom,Ethiopia and Seba in your place. Since you’re precious to Me and honored in My sight, and I love you; I’ll give people in your place, and nations instead of your life. Don’t be afraid because I am with you. I’ll bring your descendants from the east, and gather you together from the west.

[6-9] I’ll tell the north, ‘Give them up!’ and tell the south, ‘Don’t hold them back! Bring My sons from far away, and My daughters from the ends of the earth, that is, everyone who is called by My name, and whom I’ve created for My glory, whom I’ve formed, yes, whom I’ve made.’” Bring out the blind people who see and the deaf who hear. Let all the nations be gathered together, and let the peoples be gathered. Who among them can tell this, and show us the things that happened before this? Let them bring their witnesses, that they may be justified; or let them hear, and say, “That’s true.”

[10-15] “You are My witnesses,” says Yahweh, “With My Worker whom I’ve chosen; that you may know and believe Me, and understand that I am that One. Before Me there was no God formed, nor will there be another after Me. I myself am Yahweh; and besides Me there’s no other Savior. I’ve told you this, I’ve saved you, and I’ve shown it to you; and there was no false god among you. So you are My witnesses,” says Yahweh, “and I am God. Yes, since the day was, I am that One; and there’s no one who can take you out of My hand. I’ll do it, and who can stop what I do?” Yahweh says this, your Savior, the Holy One of Israel, “For your sake, I’ve sent to Babylon, and I’ll bring all of them down as those who are running away, even the Chaldeans (Babylonians, Iraq), in the ships on which they celebrate.

[15-21] I am Yahweh, your Holy One, the Creator ofIsrael, your Ruler.” Yahweh says this, who makes a path in the sea, and a way in the strong currents; who brings out the vehicles of war, the army and the strong soldiers, who die and won’t rise; They’re all gone, They’re put out like a wick. “Don’t remember the things of the past, and don’t think about the things that happened long ago. Look, I’ll do a new thing. It’s coming now. Don’t you know it? I’ll even make a way in the countryside, and rivers in the desert. The animals of the field will honor Me, the dragons and the ostriches; because I give water in the countryside and rivers in the desert, to give drink to My people, My chosen ones, the people which I formed for myself, that they might give Me My praise.

[22-28] Yet You’ve not called on Me, Jacob; but You’ve been tired of Me,Israel. You’ve not brought Me your sheep for burnt offerings; nor have you honored Me with your sacrifices. I haven’t troubled you with offerings, nor tired you with burning incense. You haven’t bought Me sweet cane with your money, nor filled Me with the fat of your sacrifices; but You’ve troubled Me with your sins. You’ve tired Me with your wrongdoings. I, even I, am that One who forgives your sins for My own sake; and I won’t remember your wrongdoings. Remind Me of this. Let’s argue this together. Make your case, so that you may be justified. Your first father sinned, and your teachers have also sinned against Me. So I’ll ruin the rulers of your safe haven; and I’ll punish Jacob, andIsraelwill be ashamed.”

44[1-5] Yet listen now, Jacob, My worker, andIsrael, whom I’ve chosen. This is what Yahweh who made you, and formed you from the womb, who will help you says, “Don’t be afraid, Jacob, My worker; and you, Jeshurun (Israel), whom I’ve chosen. I’ll pour water on those who are thirsty, and creeks on the dry ground. I’ll pour My Spirit out on your descendants, and My blessing on your offspring and they’ll spring up among the grass, as willows by the waters. One will say, ‘I am Yahweh’s;’ and another will be called by the name of Jacob; and another will write with the hand ‘to Yahweh,’ and honor the name ofIsrael.”

[6-9] This is what Yahweh, the Ruler of Israel, and God’s Savior, Yahweh, the God of All Creation, says, “I am the first, and I am the last; and there’s no God besides Me. Who is like Me? Who will call, and will tell it, and set it in order for Me, since I set up the people from the beginning? Let them tell the things that are coming, and what will happen. Don’t fear, nor be afraid. Haven’t I told it to you long ago, and shown it to you ahead of time? You are My witnesses. Is there any God besides Me? No, there’sn’t. I don’t know any other Rock.” Everyone who makes a false god is empty headed and stupid. The things that they enjoy won’t do them any good. Their own witnesses don’t see the truth, nor know it, so that they may be ashamed.

[10-15] Who has made a false god, or molds a likeness that is good for nothing? Look, all their friends will be ashamed; and the craftspeople are only humans. Let them all be gathered together. Let them stand up. They’ll be afraid and put to shame together. The blacksmiths make axes, work in the hot coals, beat with a hammer, and work with their strong arms. Yes, they are hungry, and their strength fails; they drink no water, and are faint. The carpenters measure, mark it out with a pencil, shape it with planes, mark it out with the compasses, and shape them in the figure of human beings, according to the beauty of a human being, to live in a house. They cut down cedars, and take the cypress and the oak, and strengthen for themselves one among the trees of the forest. They plant a fir tree, and the rain waters it. Then people will burn it; and take part of it, and warm themselves; yes, they kindle it, and bake bread with it; yes, and then they make a false god out of it, and worship it; they make it a false god, and fall down to worship it.

[16-20] They burn part of it in the fire; with part of it they cook their food; they roast meat, and are full; yes, they warm themselves, and say, ‘Aha, I’m warm, sitting by the fire.’ The rest of it they make into a false god that they fall down and worship, and pray to it, and say, ‘Save Me; for you are My god.’ They don’t know, nor do they even think about it, because they’ve shut their eyes, so that they can’t see; and closed their hearts, so that they can’t understand. No one remembers, or has knowledge to understand and say, ‘I’ve burned part of it in the fire; yes, I’ve also baked bread on the coals; I’ve roasted meat and eaten it and I’ll make the rest of it into an evil thing? I’ll fall down to the stump of a tree? They’ll eat their ashes because their lying hearts have turned them away from Me; and they can’t save their souls, or say, there’s truth in what I do!

[21-23] Remember these things, Jacob andIsrael; for you are Mine; I’ve formed you; you areMine,Israel, and you won’t be forgotten by Me. I’ve covered your sins, as a thick cloud, yes as a cloud, I’ve covered your sins! Come back to Me; for I’ve saved you! Sing, you heavens, for Yahweh has done it; shout, you lower parts of the earth; break out into singing, you mountains, O forest, and every tree there, for Yahweh has bought Jacob back, and will be praised in Israel.

[24-28] Yahweh says this, your Savior, who formed you from the womb, I am Yahweh, who makes all things; who alone enlarges the heavens; who enlarges the earth (who is with Me?); who confuses the signs of the liars, and makes fortune tellers go crazy; who turns educated people around, and makes their knowledge stupid; who confirms the Word of God’s people, and does what the messengers of God say; who says of Jerusalem, It will be lived in; and of the cities of Judah (southern Israel), they’ll be built, and I’ll raise up its ruins; who says to the deep waters, Be dry, and I’ll dry up your rivers; Who says of Cyrus (559-530B.C.), You are My worker, and will do what I want you to do, even saying of Jerusalem, It will be built; and of the Place of Worship, Your foundation will be laid.

45[1-4] Yahweh says to the one who is set apart for this, to Cyrus, whose strong hand I’ve held, to control nations, and to remove rulers from power; to open the doors before him, and the gates won’t be shut. I’ll go before you, and make the winding paths straight; I’ll break in pieces the doors of brass, and cut the bars of iron in half; and I’ll give you buried treasures, and riches hidden in secret places, that you may know that it is I, Yahweh, who call you by your name, even the God of Israel. For Jacob My worker’s sake, andIsraelMy chosen, I’ve called you by your name. I’ve honored your name, though You don’t know Me.

[5-10] I am Yahweh, and there’s no one else; there’s no God besides Me. I’ll clothe you, though You don’t know Me; that they may know from the east, and from the west, that there’s no God besides Me. I am Yahweh, and there’s no one else. I create the light and darkness; I give peace, and make punishments. I am Yahweh, who does all these things. Let the heavens above rain, and let the skies pour down its goodness. Let the earth open, that it may bring forth saving grace, and let goodness spring up with it; I, Yahweh, have created it. Sorrow will come to those who fight with their Maker, who are nothing but broken clay pots among all the other broken clay pots of the earth! Will the clay ask the One who molds it, “What are you making?” or your work say, “You have no hands?” Sorrow will come to those who say to a father, “What! Have you become our father?” or to a woman, “Why are you suffering?”

[11-13] Yahweh says this, the Holy One of Israel, and its Maker, Ask Me about what is to happen; Ask me about My people, and about the work of My hands. I’ve made the earth, and created human beings to live on it. I, even My hands, have enlarged the heavens; and put all the heavenly bodies in place. I’ve raised Cyrus up for goodness, and I’ll make whatever he does go well, who will build My city, and let My people go free. He’ll do it out of goodness, not for a price or reward, says Yahweh, the God of All Creation.

[14-17] Yahweh says this, “Everything that belongs toEgyptandEthiopiawill be yours, and the tall dark- skinned Sabeans, will come over to you, and they’ll be yours. They’ll follow you. They’ll come over in chains; and fall down and say to you, ‘Without a doubt, God is in you; and there’s no one else, there’s no other god. Most certainly you are a God who hides yourself, the God of Israel, the Savior.’” They’ll be ashamed, yes, confused, all of them; They’ll be confused along with those who make false gods. ButIsraelwill be saved by Yahweh with an everlasting saving grace! You won’t be ashamed, nor confused for ever.

[18-21] Yahweh says this, who created the heavens, the God who formed the earth and made it, who established it and didn’t create it for nothing, but formed it to be lived in. I am Yahweh; and there’s no one else. I haven’t spoken in secret, in a place of the land of darkness; I didn’t say to the descendents of Jacob, Look for Me for nothing! I, Yahweh, speak goodness, I tell things that are right. Gather yourselves and come here; come here together, you who have escaped from the nations. They don’t know anything, who carry the wood of their false god, and pray to a god that can’t save them. Tell what is going to happen; yes, let them make agreements with each other. Who has shown this from long ago? Who has told it since the old days? Haven’t I, Yahweh? and there’s no God besides Me, a just God and a Savior; there’s no one besides Me.

[22-25] Look to Me, and you’ll be saved, all the ends of the earth; for I am God, and there’s no one else to save you. I’ve promised in My own Name, the word is gone forth from My mouth in goodness, and won’t be taken back, that every knee will bow to Me, every mouth will say that I am God. I’ll come to those who say of Me, only in Yahweh is goodness and strength; and all those who were angry at Me will be ashamed. In Yahweh all the people ofIsraelwill be justified, and will celebrate.

46[1-5] Bel and Nebo are brought down; the false gods ofBabylonare carried off on the backs of animals! The things that you carried around are made a heavy load for the tired animals. They stoop, they bow down together; they couldn’t save the heavy load, but have themselves gone into captivity. Listen to Me, family of Jacob, and all who’s left of the family of Israel, that have been borne by Me from their birth, that have been carried from the womb, and even to their old age! I am your God, and even to your gray hairs I’ll carry you. I’ve made you, and I’ll carry you; yes, I’ll help you, and I’ll save you. To whom will you liken Me, and make Me equal, and compare Me, that we may be like?

[6-8] Some people pour out their gold and silver, and weigh it in the balance. They hire a metal smith, who makes it into a god. They fall down and worship it. They carry it on the shoulder, yes, they carry it, and set it in its place, and it stands there, and it won’t move from its place. Yes, someone may cry to it, yet it can’t answer them, nor save them out of trouble. Remember this, and show yourselves to be only human; Remember it, you sinners.

[9-13] Remember the things that happened before, for I am God, and there’s no one else; I am God, and there’s no one like Me; I tell the end from the beginning, and from old times things that haven’t happened yet; saying, My counsel will stand, and I’ll do whatever I want; I call a hungry bird from the east, a person from a far country to do what I want; yes, I’ve spoken, I’ll also make it happen; I’ve planned it, and I’ll also do it. Listen to Me, you stubborn people, who are far from goodness. I am bringing My good plans to pass, it won’t be long, and My saving grace won’t wait any longer! I’ll save Zion (Jerusalem) for Israel, My beautiful city.

47[1-5] Come down, and sit in the dust, city ofBabylon; Come down from your throne and sit on the ground, city of the Chaldeans (Babylonians, Iraq)! You won’t be called gentle and sensitive any more. You’ll work like a slave, so take off your veil, and strip off the train, bare your leg, go through the rivers. Your nakedness will be uncovered, yes, your shame will be seen by everyone! I’ll repay you for everything you’ve done, and won’t spare anyone. Our Savior, whose name is Yahweh, the God of All Creation, is the Holy One of Israel. Sit silent, and go into darkness, city of the Chaldeans (Babylonians, Iraq); for you won’t be called The Ruler of the Nations any more.

[6-10] I was angry with My people, I ruined My inheritance, and gave them into your power, but you didn’t show them any compassion; and even made the elderly work very hard. You said, I’ll rule forever; so that you didn’t even think about it, nor did you know how it would turn out in the end.  So hear this, you who do whatever you want to, who sit safely, who say in your heart, I am, and there’s no one else besides me; I won’t know the loss of spouse or children, but these two things will come on you at the same time in one day, the loss of children and spouse. You’ll be repaid in full and they’ll come on you, for all your witchcraft, and the many spells you cast. For you’ve trusted in your sinfulness and said, No one sees me; your wisdom and your knowledge has perverted you, and you’ve said in your heart, I am, and there’s no one else besides Me.

[11-15] So evil will come on you and you won’t see it coming; and trouble will fall on you and you won’t be able to overcome it; and you’ll suddenly be alone, and you won’t know what to do. Stand there now with your spells, and your witchcraft, in which you’ve practiced since your youth; if you think you’ll be able to profit, if you think you may win. You are tired of your many counsels, but let the astrologers, the stargazers, and their monthly horoscopes stand up and save you now from the things that will come on you. Look, they’ll be like weeds and the fire will burn them up; They won’t save themselves from the power of the flame, and it won’t be like a coal to warm at, nor a fire to sit before. Those in which you’ve worked and done business with from your youth will be like this to you.  They’ll all wander off, everyone to their own place; There won’t be any one to save you.

48[1-5] Hear this, family of Jacob, who are called by the name of Israel, and are come from the line of Judah (southern Israel); who swear by the name of Yahweh, and talk about the God of Israel, but not in truth, nor in goodness (for they claim to be from the holy city, and count on the God of Israel; Yahweh, the God of All Creation). I’ve told you what would happen from the first; yes, the Word went out of My mouth, and I showed them to you. I did what I said suddenly, and it all happened just as I said, because I knew that you are stubborn, and your neck is as stiff as iron, and your brow is as tough as brass; So I’ve told it to you before it ever happened; from the days of old, I showed it you; so you couldn’t say, ‘My false god has done this, and My man-made likeness has said this.’

[6-9] You’ve heard it and see all this; so won’t you tell others about it? Now, from this time forward, I’ll show you new things, even secret things, which You didn’t know. They’re happening now, and not in the past; and you’ve never heard of them before; so you can’t say, ‘See, I knew it!’ Yes, you didn’t hear; yes, you didn’t know; yes, from the beginning your ear wasn’t listening. I knew that you’d be very unfaithful, and were called a sinner from the womb. For My Name’s sake, I’ll hold My anger, and for My praise I won’t destroy you completely.

[10-16] Look, I’ve refined you, but not as silver; I’ve chosen you to go through the fire of trouble. For My own sake, for My own sake, I’ll do it; Why should My Name be ruined? and why should I share My praise with another. Listen to Me, O Jacob, andIsrael, who I’ve called. I am your God; I am the first, and the last. Yes, I’ve laid the foundation of the earth, and I’ve enlarged the heavens with My own hands.  When I call to My creations, they stand up together. Gather yourselves together, and listen; who among any of these false gods has foretold these things? Cyrus, whom I love, will do what he wants toBabylon, whose power will take control over the Chaldeans (Babylonians,Iraq). I, even I, have spoken this; yes, I’ve called him and brought him, and I’ll make his way succeed. Come near to Me, and listen to this; from the beginning I haven’t spoken in secret; from the time that it happens, I am there, too.  Yahweh God and the Holy Spirit has sent Me.

[17-22] Yahweh, your Savior, the Holy One of Israel, says this, I am Yahweh your God, who teaches you how to do well, who leads you by the way that you should go. Oh, how I wanted you to listen to what I say! Then your peace would have flowed like a river, and your goodness would overflow like the waves of the sea, your people would have been as the sand, and your children like its grains, whose name wouldn’t be cut off nor destroyed from before Me. Leave Babylon, leave from the Chaldeans (Babylonians, Iraq); with a voice of singing tell this, speak it all over the earth! Say, Yahweh has bought you back, Jacob. You didn’t get thirsty when God led you through the deserts; God made the waters flow out of the rock for you; and split the rock also, and the waters poured out. But Yahweh says, There’s no peace for the sinners.

About mamaheartfilled

I am a mother of eight wonderful children and three grandkids, who I am very proud of. I am also a bi-vocational ordained evangelical minister, and a Christian Counselor. I received my B.S. degree in 2004, studying primarily in the areas of Psychology, with minors in Religion and English. I received my Masters Degree in 2009 in Psychological Counseling with an emphasis in Christian Counseling. My ministry is geared toward victims of sexual and domestic violence, including victims of childhood sexual abuse, whether currently or in the past. Since I have personally experienced the healing hand of God in overcoming many of the life issues that Christians may face, I feel qualified and compelled to discuss them in a truthful and open manner, as God’s word tells us that “We shall know the truth and the truth shall set us free.” God has brought me through such diverse tribulations as sexual, physical, and mental abuse, being a victim of a drunk driving accident, spousal pornography addiction, adultery, divorce, remarriage, a very brief, though unjust, incarceration, and having experienced multiple miscarriages and various other trials. I have been asked to leave two Southern Baptist Churches, due to my being a female, ordained as a minister, and fired from a SBC sponsored Christian School (mostly white) for speaking out against racial prejudice in the Family of God. Through God’s merciful forgiveness of my own sins and inadequacies and God’s grace given to me to forgive those who have been a stumbling block to me, I have overcome many of these adversities. God’s word tells us that “All things work together for good to those who love the Lord and are called according to the purposes of God." Since I have this hope, I believe that God has blessed me with the ability to confront and relate these issues to the Christian community, and that I have been called to the homeland mission field of North America. I hope to be able to use my personal experiences as a ministry of God’s grace and in the comforting of the people of God with the truth of God's mercy. I claim II Corinthians 1: 3 & 4 as my calling, which states: “Blessed be God, the Origin of our Lord Jesus Christ, the Origin of mercies, and the God of comfort; who comforts us in all our troubles, that we may be able to comfort those who are in trouble, by the comfort we ourselves have been given by God.” As I have received the gift of God’s healing, I hope to be able to bring the peace beyond understanding to others with the message of God’s mercy and grace. My love for the Sovereign Lord of my life, Jesus Christ, along with my passion for writing has drawn me to explore these commonly experienced crisis issues from the perspective of my own experience in the hope that I may bring an empathetic and compassionate insight to God’s people. I am now a published author and have several books in publication, including my autobiography, "A Little Redneck Theology." The views expressed in my writings are strictly my own insights, acquired from personal experience and diligent study of the related topics and God’s word concerning them. Though I am an ordained minister, my views should not be considered authoritative. I believe that the Christian community’s ultimate authority is the guidance of the human heart by the Holy Spirit and the Word of God.
This entry was posted in Bible, children, Christianity, Christianity and Islam, devotionals, education, homeschooling, Israel and the Jews, Parenting and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Isaiah 43-48

  1. Pingback: Now this is what I call Global Warming! | Go Fish Ministries, Inc

  2. Pingback: Isaiah 40-42 | Go Fish Ministries, Inc

  3. Pingback: Isaiah 36-39 | Go Fish Ministries, Inc

Leave a Reply

