Job 22-31


Job 22-31

 

Eliphaz Answers Job

    22[1 -5] Then Eliphaz, the Temanite, answered, “Can anyone be useful to God? Truly, even though those who are wise are only of use to themselves. Does it please the Almighty if you’re good? Or does it benefit God, if you act well? Are you punished for worshiping God? Does God bring you to judgment for that? Isn’t your evil great? Nor is there any end to your faults.

     [6 -11] You’ve taken from others what they didn’t owe, and stripped the naked of their clothing. You haven’t given water to those who were tired and thirsty, and you’ve withheld food from the hungry. But as for the strong, they had the land. The honorable ones lived in it. You’ve sent death survivors away empty handed, and the arms of those without a parent have no strength. So traps are all around you. Sudden fear troubles you, or darkness, so that you can’t see, and floods of waters cover you.

     [12-17] Isn’t God in the hights of heaven? See the height of the stars, how high they’re! You say, ‘What does God know? Can God judge what isn’t seen? Thick clouds are a covering to God, who doesn’t see. God walks above the circle of the sky.’ Will you keep the old ways, which sinners have walked, who were snatched away before their time, whose lives were poured out as a stream, who said to God, ‘Leave us alone; ‘ and, ‘What can the Almighty do for us?’

     [18-23] Still God filled their houses with good things, but the counsel of the sinful is far from me. The good see it, and are glad. The innocent ridicule them, saying, ‘Truly those who came up against us are stopped. The fire has burned up what’s left of them.’ Get to know God now, and be at peace, and good will come to you.              Please learn from God’s Word, and treasure them in your heart. If you return to the Almighty, you’ll be restored, if you put away ungodliness far from your homes.

     [24-30] Lay your treasure in the dust, the gold of Ophir among the stones of the rivers. The Almighty will be your treasure, and like precious silver to you. Then you’ll enjoy yourself in the Almighty, and will lift up your face to God. You’ll make your prayer to God, who will hear you. You’ll keep your promises. You’ll also say a thing, and it will happen to you. Light will shine on all your ways. When they throw down, you’ll say, ‘be lifted up.’ God will save the humble person. God will even free those who aren’t innocent. Yes, they’ll be freed through the cleanness of your hands.

 

Job Answers Eliphaz

     23[1-5] Then Job answered, “Even today my complaint is rebellious. God’s hand is heavy in spite of my crying.    Oh that I knew where I could find God! That I could come even to God’s throne! I’d  set my case in order there, and fill my mouth with arguments.       I’d  know and understand the words which God would answer me. Would God fight with me with great power? No, but God would listen to me. There the good can reason with God, so I should be freed forever from my judge.

[8-12] If I go east, God isn’t there; if west, I can’t find God; God works to the north, but I can’t see God. God turns south, but I can’t catch a glimpse of God. But God knows the way that I take, and when God has tested me, I’ll come out shining like gold. I have followed God’s footsteps. I’ve kept God’s way, and not turned away. I’ve done everything I’ve said I’d  do. I’ve treasured up God’s words more than my necessary food.

     [13-17] But God stands alone, and who can fight God? Whatever God wants, even that is done. God does what’s planned for me. Many such things are with God. So I’m scared to death at God’s presence. When I think about it, I’m afraid of God, who has made my heart faint. The Almighty has scared to death me. Because I wasn’t stopped before the darkness, neither did God keep the thick darkness from my face.

 

 

     24[1-8] Why aren’t times laid up by the Almighty? Why don’t those who know God see their days? There are people who take the landmarks. They violently take away flocks, and feed them. They drive away the donkey of those without a parent, and they take the death survivor’s cow for a pledge. They turn the needy out of the way. The poor of the earth all hide themselves. See, as wild donkeys in the desert, they go to their work, look carefully for their food. The countryside gives them food for their children. They cut their feed in the field. They gather in the vineyard of the sinful. They lie all night naked without clothing, and have no covering in the cold. They’re wet with the rain of the mountains, and hug the rock for lack of a shelter.

     [9-12] There are those who take a child from the breast, and take a pledge of the poor, so that they go around naked without clothing. Being hungry, they carry the sheaves of wheat. They make oil within the walls of these evil people. They stomp the grapes in the winepresses, and suffer thirst. From out of the populous city, they groan. The soul of the abused cries out, still God doesn’t pay attention to their disgrace.

     [13 -18] These are of those who rebel against the light. They don’t know its ways, nor walk in its paths. The murderer gets up with the light and kills the poor and needy, like a thief in the night. The adulterers wait for dusk, saying, ‘No one will see me’ and disguises their face. In the dark they dig through houses. They shut themselves up in the daytime. They don’t know the light. The morning is to all of them like thick darkness, for they know the fears of the thick darkness. They disappear like foam on the surface of the waters. They’re punished in the earth. They don’t turn into the way of the vineyards.

     [19-21] Drought and heat melt the snow waters, so does Hell those who have sinned. The womb will forget them. The worm will feed sweetly on them. They’ won’t be remembered anymore. Ungodliness will be broken like a tree. They destroy the woman who doesn’t have children and shows no kindness to the death survivor.

     [22 -25] Still God saves the strong with power and lifts up those who have no hope of life. God gives them safety, and they rest in it. God watches all their ways. They’re uplifted; still a little while, and they’re gone. Yes, they’re brought low, they’re taken out of the way as all others, and come to an end like the tops of the ears of grain.    If it’sn’t so now, who will prove me a liar, and make my speech useless?”

 

Bildad Answers Job

     25[1 -6] Then Bildad, the Shuhite, answered, “Power and fear are with him. God makes peace in the high places. Can God’s armies be counted? On whom does God’s light not come up? How then can human beings be just with God? Or how can those who are born of a woman be fit? See, even the moon has no brightness, and the stars aren’t pure in God’s sight; How much less a human being, who is a worm, the child of human, who is a worm!”

 

Job Answers Bildad

     26[1-6] Then Job answered, “How have you helped the one who has no power! How have you saved the one who has no strength! How have you counseled the one who has no wisdom, and plentifully told sound knowledge! To whom have you spoken these words? Whose spirit came from you? Those who are dead shake in fear, all those beneath the waters and who live in them. Hell is naked before God, and Abaddon, the place of destruction, has no covering.

     [7-11] God stretches out the north over empty space, and hangs the earth on nothing. God takes up the waters in thick clouds, and the cloud doesn’t burst under them. The face of the throne of God is hidden by the clouds spread over it. God has set a boundary on the surface of the waters, and to the limits of light and darkness. The pillars of heaven tremble and are shocked at God’s word.

     [12-14] God stirs up the sea with great power, and fights Rahab (the sea monster) with understanding. By God’s Spirit the stars decorate the sky. God’s hand has formed the twisting snake. See, these are only the beginnings of God’s ways. How small a whisper do we hear of God! But the thunder of God’s power who can understand?”

 

Job Speaks

     27[1-6] Job spoke again, saying, “As God lives, Who has taken away my right, the Almighty, has made me bitter. For the length of my life is still in me, and the spirit of God is in my nostrils; truly I won’t speak ungodliness, nor will I tell lies. Far be it from me that I should justify you. Until I die I won’t lose my integrity. I hold on to my goodness, and won’t let it go. My heart won’t condemn me so long as I live.

     [7 -12] Let my enemy be as the sinful. Let those who come against me be as the ungodly. For what’s the hope of the godless when they’re finished, when God takes away their life? Will God hear their cry when trouble comes on them? Will they enjoy themselves in the Almighty, and call on God at all times? I’ll teach you about the hand of God. What’s with the Almighty I won’t hide. See, all of you’ve seen it for yourselves; why then have you become altogether worthless?

     [13-18] This is what happens to a sinner with God, the heritage of abusers, which they receive from the Almighty. If their children are many, they’ll die. Their children won’t be satisfied with food. Those who are left of them will be buried in death. Their death survivors won’t mourn. Though they pile up silver as the dust, and have clothing as the clay; they may prepare it, but the just will put it on, and the innocent will divide the silver. They build their houses as the moth, as a booth which the watchman makes.

     [19-23] They lie down rich, but they won’t do so again. They open their eyes, and they’re dead. Fears overtake them like waters. A storm steals them away in the night. The east wind carries them away, and they leave. It scares them out of their place. It hurls at them, and doesn’t spare, as they run away from God’s hand. Others will clap their hands at them, and will hiss them out of their place.

 

 

     28[1-4] Truly there is a mine for silver, and a place for gold which they refine. Iron is taken out of the earth, and copper is smelted out of the ore. Human beings put an end to the darkness, and search out, to the furthest place, the stones of the hidden places of the darkness. They break open a shaft away from where people live. They’re forgotten by those who walk above them. They hang far from them, and swing back and forth.

[5-11] The earth gives us our food; Underneath it’s turned up as it were by fire. Sapphires come from its rocks. It has dust of gold.    That path no bird of prey knows, neither has the falcon’s eye seen it. The proud animals haven’t stepped it, nor has the fierce lion passed by there. They put their hand on the flinty rock, and overturn the mountains by the roots. They cut out caves among the rocks. Their eye see every precious thing. They keep the streams from flowing. The things that are hidden they bring to light.

[12-20] But where will wisdom be found? Where is the place of understanding? Human beings don’t know its value; Nor is it found in the land of the living. The deep says, ‘It isn’t in me.’ The sea says, ‘It isn’t with me. ‘It can’t be had for gold, nor will silver buy it. It can’t be valued with the gold of Ophir, with the precious onyx, or the sapphire.   Gold and glass can’t equal it, nor will it be exchanged for jewels of fine gold. No mention will be made of coral or of crystal. Yes, the price of wisdom is even above rubies. The topaz of Ethiopia won’t equal it, nor will it be valued with pure gold.             Where then comes wisdom? Where is the place of understanding?

     [21-28] Seeing it’s hidden from the eyes of all living, and kept unseen by the birds of the sky. Destruction and Death say, ‘We’ve heard a rumor about it with our ears.’ God understands its way, and knows its place. God looks to the ends of the earth, and sees under the whole sky. God makes the force of the wind. Yes, God weighs out the waters by measure. When God called for the rain, and made a way for the lightning of the thunder; then God saw it, and spoke it. God established it, yes, and searched it out. God said to human beings, ‘See, the awe of Yahweh God, that is wisdom. To stop from doing evil is understanding.’”

 

 

     29[1-7] Job spoke again, saying, “Oh that I were as I was in the old days, as in the days when God watched over me; when God’s lamp shone on my head, and by whose light I walked through darkness, as I was in the days of my youth when the friendship of God was in my home, when the Almighty was still with me, and my children were around me, when my steps were washed with butter, and the rock poured out streams of oil for me, when I came to the city gate, when I prepared my seat in the street.

[8 -14] The young saw me and hid themselves. The aged got up and stood. The leaders stopped talking, and put their hand over their mouth. The voice of the rich was hushed, and their tongue stuck to the roof of their mouth. When they heard me, then I was blessed; and when they saw me, I was praised; because I freed the poor who cried out for help, and those without a parent, and those who didn’t have anyone to help them, I got a blessing from those who were about to die, and I caused the death survivor’s heart to sing for joy. I put on goodness, and it clothed me. My justice was as a robe and a crown.

     [15-20] I was eyes to the blind, and feet to those who couldn’t walk. I was like a father to the needy. The case of those who I didn’t know, I searched out. I broke the jaws of the ungodly, and plucked the prey out of their teeth.      Then I said, ‘I’ll die in my own house, I’ll be as old as the sand. My root is spread out to the waters. The dew lies all night on my branch. My honor is anew in me. My bow is always ready in my hand.

[21 -25] Others listened to me, waited, and kept silence for my counsel. After my words they didn’t speak again. My words fell on them. They waited for me as for the rain. Their mouths drank as from a creek. I smiled on them when they had no confidence. They didn’t reject the light of my face. I guided their way, and sat as leader. I lived as a leader in the army, as one who comforts the mourners.

 

     30[1 -8] But now those who are younger than I make fun of me, whose ancestors I’d have hated to put with my sheep dogs.               Of what use is the strength of their hands to me, those in whom youth has died? They’re thin from lack and famine. They eat the dry ground, in the gloom of waste and emptiness. They pick salt herbs by the bushes. The roots of the broom are their food. They’re driven out from the midst of humanity. They cry after them as after a thief; so that they live in dark valleys, and in caves of the earth and of the rocks. Among the bushes they bray like asses; and gather together under the thorn bushes.  They’re children of ungodly persons, yes, children of evil people. They were run out of the land.

[9-14] Now I’ve become their song. Yes, I’m a byword to them. They hate me; they stand away from me, and don’t hesitate to spit in my face. They’ve taken off their belts, and beaten me; and they’ve thrown off all self-control before me.               On my right hand the youth come up. They kick at my feet, They come against me with their destructive ways.              They block my path, and move forward my trouble without anyone’s help. They come as through a wide opening, in the midst of the ruin they run in.

[15-19] Fears have turned on me. They chase my honor as the wind. My welfare has passed away as a cloud. Now my soul is poured out within me. Days of trouble have taken hold on me.  In the night my bones ache, and the pains that gnaw at me don’t ever stop. By this horrible disease is my body is disfigured. It surrounds me as the collar of my coat.  God has throw me into the mud. I’ve become like dust and ashes.

[20-25] I cry to You, and You don’t answer me. I stand up, and You stare at me. You’ve turned to be cruel to me. With the strength of Your hand You trouble me. You lift me up to the wind, and drive me with it. You soak me in the storm.           I know that You’ll bring me to death, to the place set aside for all living. But doesn’t one stretch out a hand who falls? Or in their trouble cry for help? Didn’t I cry for those who were in trouble? Wasn’t I myself upset for the needy?

[26 -31] When I looked for good, then evil came; When I waited for light, there came darkness. My heart is troubled, and doesn’t rest. Days of trouble have come on me. I go mourning without the sun. I stand up in the assembly, and cry for help. I live with jackals, and am a friend to ostriches. My skin rots and peels from me. My bones are burning with heat. So my harp has turned to mourning, and my pipe into the voice of those who cry.

 

     31[1-8] I made an agreement with my eyes, how then should I look lustfully at a young woman? For what’s the reward from God above, and the heritage from the Almighty on high? Isn’t it trouble to the ungodly, and disaster to those who live in sin? Doesn’t God see my ways, and number all my steps? If I’ve walked with falsehood, and my foot has hurried to lies (let me be weighed in a fair balance, that God may know my integrity); if my step has turned out of the way, if my heart has walked after what I see, if any evil thing has stuck to my hands, then let me plant, and let another eat. Yes, let the produce of my field be uprooted.

[9-15] If my heart has been trickd by a woman, and I’ve put up a trap at my neighbor’s door, then let my wife grind for another, and let others sleep with her. For that would be a terrible sin. Yes, it would be n sin to be punished by the judges; It’s a fire that burns everything up, and would destroy everything I have. If I’ve hated the case of my workers when they argued with me; what then will I do when God comes? When God visits, what will I answer? Didn’t the One who made me in the womb make them as well? Didn’t God design us both in the womb?

[16 -22] If I’ve withheld any need from the poor, or have caused the hope of the death survivor to fail, or have eaten my food alone, and haven’t fed those without a parent (no, from my youth they grew up with me as with a father, her have I guided from my mother’s womb); if I’ve seen any die for want of clothing, or that the needy had no covering; if thier heart hasn’t blessed me, if they haven’t been warmed with my sheep’s wool; if I’ve lifted up my hand against those without a parent, because I saw my help in the gate, then let my shoulder fall from the shoulder blade, and my arm be broken from the bone.

[23-28] For trouble from God scares me to death. I can’t do anything for God’s awesomeness. If I’ve made gold my hope, and have said to the fine gold, ‘You’ll save me; ‘ If I was happy because my wealth was great, and because my hand had gotten much; if I’ve seen the sun when it shined, or the moon moving in beauty, and my heart has been secretly tricked, and my hand threw a kiss from my mouth, this also would be a sin to be punished by the judges; for I would have denied the God who is above.

[29-35] If I was happy at the destruction of those who hated me, or lifted up myself when evil found them; (yes, I haven’t let my mouth sin by asking for their life with a punishment); if the people of my house haven’t said, ‘Who can find one who hasn’t been filled with his meat?’ (the foreigner hasn’t stayed in the street, but I’ve opened my doors to the traveler;)             if like Adam I’ve covered my sins, by hiding my sin in my heart, because I feared the people, and the their disapproval scared me to death, so that I kept silence, and didn’t go out of the door– oh that I had one to hear me! (see, here is my signature, let the Almighty answer me); let the accuser write my crime!

[36-38] Truly I’d carry it on my shoulder; and I’d wear it like a crown. I’d tell God the number of my steps. I would go near to God like a prince. If my land cries out against me, and its furrows cry together; if I’ve eaten its fruits without money, or have caused its owners to lose their life, let briars grow instead of wheat, and stinkweed instead of barley. The words of Job are finished.

    

 

 

About mamaheartfilled

I am a mother of eight wonderfully challenging children and nine grandkids, of whom I am very proud. I am also a bi-vocational ordained evangelical minister, and a Christian Counselor. I received my B.S. degree in 2004, studying primarily in the areas of Psychology, with minors in Religion and English. I received my Masters Degree in 2009 in Psychological Counseling with an emphasis in Christian Counseling. I have endeavored to paraphrase the Bible, both Old and New Testaments, for the last ten years or so and am working on a final edit, now. It is my hope that it will be of some use in the great commission of Christ. My ministry is primarily geared toward victims of sexual and domestic violence, including victims of childhood sexual abuse, whether currently or in the past. Since I have personally experienced the healing hand of God in overcoming many of the life issues that Christians may face, I feel qualified and compelled to discuss them in a truthful and open manner, as God’s word tells us that “We shall know the truth and the truth shall set us free.” God has brought me through such diverse tribulations as sexual, physical, and mental abuse, being a victim of a drunk driving accident, spousal pornography addiction, adultery, divorce, remarriage, a very brief, though unjust, incarceration, and having experienced multiple miscarriages and various other trials. I have been asked to leave two Southern Baptist Churches, due to my being a female, ordained as a minister, and fired from a SBC sponsored Christian School (mostly white) for speaking out against racial prejudice in the Family of God. Through God’s merciful forgiveness of my own sins and inadequacies and God’s grace given to me to forgive those who have been a stumbling block to me, I have overcome many of these adversities. God’s word tells us that “All things work together for good to those who love the Lord and are called according to the purposes of God." Since I have this hope, I believe that God has blessed me with the ability to confront and relate these issues to the Christian community around the world. I hope to be able to use my personal experiences as a ministry of God’s grace and in the comforting of the people of God with the truth of God's mercy. I claim II Corinthians 1: 3 & 4 as my calling, which states: “Blessed be God, the Origin of our Lord Jesus Christ, the Origin of mercies, and the God of comfort; who comforts us in all our troubles, that we may be able to comfort those who are in trouble, by the comfort we ourselves have been given by God.” As I have received the gift of God’s healing, I hope to be able to bring the peace beyond understanding to others with the message of God’s mercy and grace. My love for the Sovereign Lord of my life, Jesus Christ, along with my passion for writing has drawn me to explore these commonly experienced crisis issues from the perspective of my own experience in the hope that I may bring an empathetic and compassionate insight to God’s people. I am now a published author and have several books in publication, including my autobiography, "A Little Redneck Theology." The views expressed in my writings are strictly my own insights, acquired from personal experience and diligent study of the related topics and God’s word concerning them. Though I am an ordained minister, my views should not be considered authoritative. I believe that the Christian community’s ultimate authority is the guidance of the human heart by the Holy Spirit and the Word of God.
This entry was posted in Bible, Christianity, devotionals and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

