I Samuel 16-20


     16[1-5] Yahweh said to Samuel, “How long will you mourn for Saul, seeing I’ve rejected him from being ruler over Israel ? Fill your horn with oil, and go; I’ll send you to Jesse the Bethlehemite because I’ve picked me a ruler among his sons.” Samuel said, “How can I go? If Saul hears it, he’ll kill me.” Yahweh said, “Take a cow with you, and say, I’ve come to sacrifice to Yahweh.” Call Jesse to the sacrifice, and I’ll show you what to do; and you’ll anoint to me the one whom I name to you.”     Samuel did what Yahweh said, and came to Bethlehem. The elders of the city came to meet him shaking, saying, “Do you come peaceably? He said, Peaceably; I’m come to sacrifice to Yahweh; dedicate yourselves, and come with me to the sacrifice. He dedicated Jesse and his sons, and called them to the sacrifice.

     [6 -10] When they had come, he looked at Eliab, saying, “Truly Yahweh’s anointing is on him.” But Yahweh said to Samuel, “Don’t look at his face, or how tall he is; because I’ve rejected him; Yahweh doesn’t see as a person sees; people look at the outward appearance, but Yahweh looks at the heart.” Then Jesse called Abinadab, and made him come before Samuel. He said, Nor has Yahweh chosen this one. Then Jesse made Shammah to come. He said, Nor has Yahweh chosen this one. Jesse made seven of his sons to come before Samuel. Samuel said to Jesse, Yahweh hasn’t chosen these.

     [11-13] Samuel said to Jesse, “Are all your children here?” He said, “There is still the youngest left, who is keeping the sheep.” Samuel said to Jesse, “Send and get him because we won’t sit down until he comes here.  He sent, and brought him in. Now he had light skin, and was very good looking. Yahweh said, “Get up, anoint him because this is the one. Then Samuel took the horn of oil, and anointed him in the midst of his family members; and the Spirit of Yahweh came strongly on David from that day forward. So Samuel got up, and went to Ramah.

     [14-18] Now the Spirit of Yahweh left from Saul, and an evil spirit sent from Yahweh troubled him. Saul’s workers said to him, “See now, an evil spirit from God troubles you. Let our leader now tell Your workers who are before you, to look out for anyone who is a skillful player on the harp; and when the evil spirit from God is on you, he’ll play with his hand, and you’ll be well. Saul said to his workers, “Find me someone who can play well now, and bring him to me.” Then one of the servants answered, saying, I’ve seen a son of Jesse, the Bethlehemite, who plays well, and who’s a brave warior, and speaks sensibly, and is a good looking young man; and Yahweh is with him.                           

     [19-23]  So Saul sent messengers to Jesse, saying, “Send me David your son who is with the sheep. Jesse took a donkey loaded with bread, and a bottle of wine, and a young goat, and sent them by David his son to Saul. David came to Saul, and stood before him; and he loved him greatly; and he became his armor bearer. Saul sent to Jesse, saying, “Please let David stand before me because he has found favor in My sight.” When the evil spirit from God was on Saul, David played the harp; so Saul was refreshed, and was well, and the evil spirit left him.

 

     17[1-7] Now the Philistines gathered together their troops to fight; and they were gathered together at Socoh which belongs to Judah, and camped between Socoh and Azekah, in Ephesdammim. Saul and the people of Israel were gathered together, and camped in the valley of Elah, and got ready for battle against the Philistines. The Philistines stood on one side of the mountain, and Israel stood on the other side; and there was a valley between them. A champion came out of the camp of the Philistines, named Goliath, of Gath who was 9 ½ ‘ tall. He had a helmet of brass on his head, and he was clad with a coat of mail that weighed as much as 5,000 coins of brass. He had brass armor on his legs, and a brass lance between his shoulders. The staff of his spear was like a weaver’s beam; and his spear’s head weighed as much as 600 coins of iron; and his shield bearer went before him.

     [8 -11] He stood and shouted to the troops of Israel, saying to them, Why have you come out to get your troops in order? Am I not a Philistine, and you workers of Saul? Choose someone to fight for you, and let him come down to me. If he be able to fight with me, and kill me, then we’ll be your workers; but if I triumph against him, and kill him, then you’ll be our workers, and serve us.”     The Philistine said, “I defy the troops of Israel today; give me someone to fight. When Saul and all Israel heard the words of the Philistine, they were troubled, and very afraid.

     [12-18] Now David was of the Ephrathite of Bethlehem Judah whose name was Jesse, who had eight sons and was very old in the days of Saul. The three oldest sons of Jesse had followed Saul to the battle; and their names were Eliab the firstborn, and next to him Abinadab, and the third Shammah. David was the youngest; and the three oldest followed Saul. Now David went back and forth from Saul to feed his father’s sheep at Bethlehem. The Philistine came morning and evening, and showed up for 40 days. Jesse said to David his son, “Take now for your brothers 8 gallons of this parched grain, and these ten loaves, and carry it quickly to the camp to them; and bring these ten cheeses to the captain of their 1,000, and see how your brothers are doing, and bring news of them.

     [19-24] Now Saul, and they, and all the people of Israel were in the valley of Elah, fighting with the Philistines.  David got up early in the morning, and left the sheep with a keeper, and went as Jesse had told him and came to the camp, as the troops were going to fight shouting for the battle.  Israel and the Philistines put their troops in order, troop against troop. David left his baggage in the hand of the keeper of the baggage, and ran to the troops, and came to meet his brothers. As he talked with them, the champion, the Philistine of Gath, Goliath by name, came out of the ranks of the Philistines, saying the same words; and David heard them. All the people of Israel when they saw the giant, ran from him, and were very afraid.

     [25-30] The people of Israel said, “Have you seen this giant who has come up? Truly to defy Israel he has come up; and the one who kills him, the ruler will give great riches, and will give him his daughter, and make his father’s house free in Israel. David said to the men who stood by him, asking, “What will be done to the one who kills this Philistine, and ends this shame on Israel? Who is this unbelieving Philistine, that he defy the troops of the living God?” The people answered him, “So all this will be done to the one who kills him.” Eliab, his oldest brother, heard what he said to the men; and Eliab’s was angry at David, and he said, “Why have you come down? And with whom have you left those few sheep in the countryside? I know how proud you are, and the mischief of your heart; you’ve come down just to see the battle.” David said, “What have I done now? Isn’t there cause?” He turned away from him toward another, saying the same thing; and the people answered him again saying the same thing.

     [31-37] When the words were heard which David said, they told it to Saul; and he sent for him. David said to Saul, “Let no one’s heart fail because of him; I’ll go and fight with this Philistine. Saul said to David, “You’re not able to go against this Philistine to fight with him; you’re so young, and he’s a man of war from his youth. Then David said to Saul, I was keeping my father’s sheep; and when a lion or a bear came, and took a lamb out of the flock, I went out after him, and fought him, and took it out of its mouth; and when it came up against me, I caught it by its hair, and fought it, and killed it. Your worker fought both the lion and the bear; and this unbelieving Philistine will be as one of them, seeing he has defied the troops of the living God.” Then David said, “Yahweh, who saved me from the paw of the lion, and the bear, will save me out of the hand of this Philistine.” Saul said to David, “Go, and Yahweh will be with you.”

  [38-47] Then Saul put his own armor on David, and put a helmet of brass on his head, and dressed him in a coat of mail. David tied his sword on him, and he tried to go but he hadn’t tested it. So David said to Saul, “I can’t go with these; I haven’t tested them. So David took them off. He took his staff in his hand, and chose five smooth stones out of the river, and put them in the shepherd’s bag which he had, in his pouch; and his sling was in his hand; and he came to the Philistine. The Philistine came up and came to David; and a man who had his shield went before him. When the Philistine looked and saw David, he hated him because he was but a youth, and had light skin, and was good looking. The Philistine said to David, “Am I a dog that you come to me with sticks?” The Philistine cursed David by his false gods. The Philistine said to David, “Come to me, and I’ll throw your body to the birds of the sky, and to the animals of the field.” Then David said to the Philistine, “You come to me with a sword, spear, and lance; but I come to you in the Name of Yahweh, the God of All Creation, the God of the troops of Israel, Whom you’ve defied. Today Yahweh will give you to me; and I’ll fight you, and take your head off; and I’ll give the dead bodies of the troops of the Philistines today to the birds of the sky, and to the wild animals of the earth; that all the earth may know that there’s a God in Israel, and that all this assembly may know that Yahweh doesn’t save with sword and spear because the battle is Yahweh’s, who’ll give you into our hand.”

  [48-51] When the Philistine came to meet David, David hurried, and ran toward the troops to meet the Philistine. David put his hand in his bag, and took a stone, and slang it, and hit the Philistine right in the forehead; and the stone sank into his forehead, and he fell on his face to the earth. So David overcame the Philistine with a sling and a stone, and fought the Philistine, and killed him; but there was no sword in David’s hand. Then David ran, and stood over the Philistine, and took his sword, and drew it out of its sheath, and killed him, and cut his head off with it. When the Philistines saw that their champion was dead, they ran.

     [52-58] The people of Israel and Judah went up, and shouted, and chased the Philistines, until you come to Gai, and to the gates of Ekron. The wounded of the Philistines fell down by the way to Shaaraim, all the way to Gath, and to Ekron.  The people of Israel went back from chasing after the Philistines, and they took the stuff from their camp. David took the head of the Philistine, and brought it back to Jerusalem; but he put his armor in his tent. When Saul saw David go against the Philistine, he said to Abner, the captain of the troops, “Abner, whose son is this youth?” Abner said, “As your soul lives, O ruler, I can’t tell.” The ruler said, “Ask whose son the young man is!” As David went back from the slaughter of the Philistine, Abner took him, and brought him before Saul with the head of the Philistine in his hand. Saul said to him, “Whose son are you, young man?” David answered, I’m the son Jesse, the Bethlehemite.

 

     18[1 -5] When he had finished speaking to Saul, Jonathan and David became best friends, and Jonathan loved him as his own soul. Saul took him that day, and wouldn’t let him go home to his father’s house anymore. Then Jonathan and David made an agreement, because he loved him as his own soul. Jonathan stripped off the robe that was on him, and gave it to David, and his clothing, even to his sword, bow, and sash. David went out wherever Saul sent him, and behaved wisely; and Saul set him over the soldiers, and it was good in the sight of all the people, and also in the sight of Saul’s workers.

     [6 -12] As they came when David went back from the slaughter of the Philistine, the women came out of all the cities of Israel, singing and dancing, to meet ruler Saul with tambourines with great happiness, and with instruments of music.        The women sang to each other as they played, saying, “Saul has killed his thousands, David his ten thousands.” Saul was very angry, and this saying made him mad; and he said, “They’ve credited to David ten thousands, and to me they’ve only credited thousands;” and what can he have more but the rule of the nation? Saul watched David closely from that day forward. On the next day, an evil spirit from God came over Saul, and he preached in the midst of the house; and David played his harp, as he did day by day. Saul had his spear in his hand and threw it, thinking, “I’ll pin David to the wall.” David left his presence twice. Saul was afraid of David, because Yahweh was with him, and had left Saul. So Saul stayed away from him, and made him his captain over a thousand; and he went out and came in before the people.

     [14 -21] David behaved wisely in all he did; and Yahweh was with him.  When Saul saw that he behaved himself very wisely, he stood in awe of him. But all Israel and Judah loved David because he went out and came in before them. Saul said to David, “See, my oldest daughter Merab, I’ll give her to you as wife; only be brave for me, and fight Yahweh’s battles. Saul thought, “Don’t let my hand kill him, but let the Philistines kill him.” David said to Saul, “Who am I, and what’s my life, or my father’s family in Israel, that I should be son-in-law to the ruler?” But at the time when Merab, Saul’s daughter, should have been given to David, she was given to Adriel, the Meholathite, as wife. So Michal, Saul’s daughter, loved David; and they told Saul, and it pleased him. So Saul said, “I’ll give her to him that she may be a trap to him, and that the hand of the Philistines may be against him.” So Saul said to David, “Today you’ll be my son-in-law a second time.”

 [22-30] Saul told his workers, saying, “Talk with David secretly, and say, ‘The ruler likes you, and all the people love you; So now be the ruler’s son-in-law.’” Saul’s workers said that to David and David said, “Does it seem to you a little thing to be the ruler’s son-in-law, seeing that I’m just a poor man, and of little respect?” The workers told Saul what David said. Saul said, “Tell David, ‘The ruler doesn’t want any dowry except 100 foreskins of the Philistines, to be avenged of his enemies.” Now Saul thought make David fall by the hand of the Philistines.  When his workers told David this, it pleased David well to be the ruler’s son-in-law. The days weren’t over; and David went, he and his men, and killed 200 Philistine soldiers; and David brought their foreskins, and gave the full number to the ruler, in order to be the ruler’s son-in-law. Saul gave him Michal his daughter as wife. Saul saw and knew that Yahweh was with David; and Michal, Saul’s daughter, loved him. Saul was all the more afraid of David; and Saul was David’s enemy continually. Then the leaders of the Philistines came; and as often as they came, David behaved himself more wisely than all the workers of Saul; so that he became well known.

     19[1 -5] Saul said to Jonathan his son, and to all his workers, that they should kill David. But Jonathan, Saul’s son, loved David. Jonathan told David, “Saul my father wants to kill you; So now, please take care of yourself in the morning, and go to a secret place, and hide yourself; and I’ll go out and stand beside my father in the field where you are, and I’ll talk with my father of you; and if I hear anything, I’ll tell you. Jonathan said good things of David to Saul his father, saying to him, “Don’t let the ruler sin against his worker, David; he hasn’t sinned against you, and he has been very good toward you and has risked his life, and fought the Philistine, and Yahweh worked a great victory for all Israel; you saw it, and was happy; why then would you sin against innocent blood, to kill David without a cause?

     [6-10] Saul listened to Jonathan and promised, “As Yahweh lives, he won’t be killed.” Jonathan called David, and told him what Saul had said. Jonathan brought David to Saul, and he was in his presence, as before. There was war again; and David went out, and fought with the Philistines, and killed them with a great slaughter; and they ran before him. Then an evil spirit from Yahweh was on Saul, as he sat in his house with his spear in his hand; and David was playing his harp. Saul tried to find a way to pin David to the wall with the spear; but he slipped away from Saul, and he threw the spear into the wall; and David ran, and escaped that night.

     [11-17] Saul sent messengers to David’s house, to watch him, and kill him in the morning; and Michal, David’s wife, told him, saying, “If you don’t save your life tonight, tomorrow you’ll be killed.” So Michal let David down through the window; and he ran and escaped. Michal took the family idol, and laid it in the bed, and put a pillow of goats’ hair at its head, and covered it with the blanket. When Saul sent messengers to take David, she said, “He’s sick.” Saul sent the messengers to see David, saying, “Bring him up to me in the bed, that I may kill him.” When the messengers came in, the family idol was in the bed with the pillow of goats’ hair at its head. Saul said to Michal, “Why have you lied to me like this, and let my enemy go, so that he is escaped?” Michal answered Saul, “He said to me, ‘Let me go; why should I kill you?’”

  [18-24] Now David ran, and escaped, and came to Samuel to Ramah, and told him what Saul had done to him. He and Samuel went and lived in Naioth. It was told Saul, “David is at Naioth in Ramah.”        Saul sent messengers to take David; and when they saw the company of the preachers preaching, and Samuel standing as head over them, the Spirit of God came on the messengers of Saul, and they also preached. When it was told Saul, he sent other messengers, and they also preached. Saul sent messengers again the third time, and they also preached. Then he also went to Ramah, and came to the great well that is in Secu; and he asked, “Where are Samuel and David?” Someone said, “They’re at Naioth in Ramah.” He went there to Naioth in Ramah; and the Spirit of God came on him also, and he went on, and preached until he came to Naioth in Ramah.        He also stripped off his clothes, and preached before Samuel, and lay down naked all that day and night. So they say, “Is Saul also among the preachers?”

 

     20[1-10] David ran from Naioth in Ramah, and came saying to Jonathan, “What have I done? What’s my sin?” and “What’s my sin before your father, that he wants to take my life?” He said to him, “Far from it; you won’t die; my father doesn’t do anything either great or small, without telling it to me; and why should my father hide this from me? It’s not so.”      Besides this, David promised saying, “Your father knows well that we are friends; and he says, ‘Don’t let Jonathan know this, in case he get upset’ but truly as Yahweh lives, and as your soul lives, there’s only a step between me and death.” Then Jonathan said to David, “Whatever you want, I’ll do it for you.” David said to Jonathan, “See, tomorrow is the new moon, and I shouldn’t fail to eat with the ruler; but let me go, that I may hide myself in the field to the third day at evening. If your father miss me at all, then say, ‘David earnestly asked leave of me that he could run to Bethlehem his city because it’s the yearly sacrifice there for all the family.’ If he says, ‘It’s okay;’ I’ll have peace; but if he’s angry, then know that he has planned something evil. So be good to me because you’ve made an agreement with me to Yahweh; but if there’s sin in me, kill me yourself; why should you bring me to your father?” Jonathan said, “Far be it from you because if I should at all know that evil were planned by my father to kill you, then wouldn’t I tell you that?” Then David said to Jonathan, “Who will tell me if your father answers you roughly?”

     [11-15]  Then Jonathan said to David, “Come, and let’s go out into the field” so they both went out into the field. Jonathan said to David, “Yahweh, the God of Israel, be witness; when I’ve asked my father about this time tomorrow, or the third day, if there is good toward David, I won’t send to you, and tell it to you? Yahweh do so to Jonathan, and more also, should it please my father to hurt you, if I don’t tell it to you, and send you away, that you may go in peace; and Yahweh be with you, who has been with my father. You won’t only show me the loving kindness of Yahweh, while I still live, that I not die; but also you won’t keep your kindness from my house forever; no, not when Yahweh has destroyed all the enemies of David from the face of the earth.”

     [16-23] So Jonathan made an agreement with the house of David, saying, “Yahweh will require it at the hand of David’s enemies.”   Jonathan made David promise again, for the love that he had for him, because he loved him as he loved his own soul.            Then Jonathan said to him, “Tomorrow is the new moon; and you’ll be missed, because your seat will be empty.                 When you’ve waited three days, go down quickly, and come to the place where you hid yourself when this business first started, and stay by the stone Ezel. I’ll shoot three arrows on its side, as though I shot at a mark. I’ll send the boy, saying, ‘Go, find the arrows.’ If I tell the boy, ‘The arrows are on this side of you; take them, and come because there’s peace toward you and no hurt, as Yahweh lives. But if I say to the boy, ‘The arrows are beyond you; go on,’ then Yahweh has sent you away.           As touching the matter which you and I have spoken of, Yahweh is our witness forever.”

    [24-29 ] So David hid in the field; and when the new moon had come, the ruler sat down to eat. The ruler sat on his seat, as at other times, even on the seat by the wall; and Jonathan stood up, and Abner sat by Saul’s side; but David’s place was empty. Saul didn’t say anything that day because he thought, “Something has happened to him. He isn’t fit. Truly he isn’t fit.” On the next day after the new moon, which was the second day, David’s place was still empty; and Saul said to Jonathan his son, “Why doesn’t the son of Jesse come to eat, neither yesterday, nor today?”  Jonathan answered Saul, “David sincerely asked leave of me to go to Bethlehem; and said, ‘Please let me go, for our family has a sacrifice in the city; and my brother, he has told me to be there; and now, if it’s okay with you, let me get away, I ask, and see my brothers.’ So he hasn’t come to the ruler’s table.”

     [30-34] Then Saul was very angry with Jonathan, and said to him, “You son of a disobedient rebellious woman, don’t I know that you’ve chosen the son of Jesse to your own shame, and to your mother’s shame? For as long as the son of Jesse lives on the earth, you won’t rule the nation. So bring him to me now, for he’ll truly die!” Jonathan answered Saul his father, saying to him, “Why should he be put to death? What has he done?” Saul threw his spear at him to kill him. By this, Jonathan knew that his father planned to put David to death. So Jonathan got up from the table, being very angry, and ate no food the second day of the month because he was upset because his father had shamed David.

     [35- 42] In the morning, Jonathan went out into the field at the set time with David, and a little boy with him. He said to his boy, “Run, find the arrows which I shoot.” As the boy ran, he shot an arrow beyond him. When the boy had come to the place of the arrow which Jonathan had shot, Jonathan shouted to the boy, saying, “Isn’t the arrow beyond you?” Jonathan shouted to the boy, “Go fast! Hurry! Don’t wait!” Jonathan’s boy gathered up the arrows, and came back to him. But the boy didn’t know anything; only Jonathan and David knew the matter. Jonathan gave his weapons to the boy, saying to him, “Go, carry them to the city. As soon as the boy was gone, David got up out of a place toward the South, and fell on his face to the ground, and bowed himself three times; and they kissed, and cried together, until David was done. Jonathan said to David, “Go in peace, because we’ve promised both of us in the Name of Yahweh, saying, Yahweh will be between me and you, and between my children and your children, forever. He got up and left; and Jonathan went back to the city.

 

About mamaheartfilled

I am a mother of eight wonderfully challenging children and nine grandkids, of whom I am very proud. I am also a bi-vocational ordained evangelical minister, and a Christian Counselor. I received my B.S. degree in 2004, studying primarily in the areas of Psychology, with minors in Religion and English. I received my Masters Degree in 2009 in Psychological Counseling with an emphasis in Christian Counseling. I have endeavored to paraphrase the Bible, both Old and New Testaments, for the last ten years or so and am working on a final edit, now. It is my hope that it will be of some use in the great commission of Christ. My ministry is primarily geared toward victims of sexual and domestic violence, including victims of childhood sexual abuse, whether currently or in the past. Since I have personally experienced the healing hand of God in overcoming many of the life issues that Christians may face, I feel qualified and compelled to discuss them in a truthful and open manner, as God’s word tells us that “We shall know the truth and the truth shall set us free.” God has brought me through such diverse tribulations as sexual, physical, and mental abuse, being a victim of a drunk driving accident, spousal pornography addiction, adultery, divorce, remarriage, a very brief, though unjust, incarceration, and having experienced multiple miscarriages and various other trials. I have been asked to leave two Southern Baptist Churches, due to my being a female, ordained as a minister, and fired from a SBC sponsored Christian School (mostly white) for speaking out against racial prejudice in the Family of God. Through God’s merciful forgiveness of my own sins and inadequacies and God’s grace given to me to forgive those who have been a stumbling block to me, I have overcome many of these adversities. God’s word tells us that “All things work together for good to those who love the Lord and are called according to the purposes of God." Since I have this hope, I believe that God has blessed me with the ability to confront and relate these issues to the Christian community around the world. I hope to be able to use my personal experiences as a ministry of God’s grace and in the comforting of the people of God with the truth of God's mercy. I claim II Corinthians 1: 3 & 4 as my calling, which states: “Blessed be God, the Origin of our Lord Jesus Christ, the Origin of mercies, and the God of comfort; who comforts us in all our troubles, that we may be able to comfort those who are in trouble, by the comfort we ourselves have been given by God.” As I have received the gift of God’s healing, I hope to be able to bring the peace beyond understanding to others with the message of God’s mercy and grace. My love for the Sovereign Lord of my life, Jesus Christ, along with my passion for writing has drawn me to explore these commonly experienced crisis issues from the perspective of my own experience in the hope that I may bring an empathetic and compassionate insight to God’s people. I am now a published author and have several books in publication, including my autobiography, "A Little Redneck Theology." The views expressed in my writings are strictly my own insights, acquired from personal experience and diligent study of the related topics and God’s word concerning them. Though I am an ordained minister, my views should not be considered authoritative. I believe that the Christian community’s ultimate authority is the guidance of the human heart by the Holy Spirit and the Word of God.
This entry was posted in Bible, Christianity, devotionals, Israel and the Jews and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

